Old tool, Possibly could bend handguard clips?

For poking fun and off topic subjects
FredC

Old tool, Possibly could bend handguard clips?

Post by FredC »

Just remembered I have an old tool that we used to make electrical connectors for oil field exploration. Parts became obsolete more than 15 years ago. The tool has been collecting dust. I purchased it set up to bend the wire and I have zero experience setting it up. Just checked and the company that built this bender is still there. I think there is a real possibility that I could send this thing back to them and have them set it up to build hand guard clips.

So, the question is does anyone have a pair of pristine originals loose from a broken hand guard?

On the photos of this little machine are a couple of the wires we bent. The tool did a really professional looking job.
Attachments
Unibend2RS.jpg
Unibend2RS.jpg (357.81 KiB) Viewed 377 times
UniBend1RS.jpg
UniBend1RS.jpg (628.79 KiB) Viewed 377 times

butlersrangers

Re: Old tool, Possibly could bend handguard clips?

Post by butlersrangers »

I'm of little help, on this. I don't have any loose hand-guard 'clips'.

IMO - Unless someone is going into the business of reproducing Krag hand-guards, there would be little demand for these parts.

FredC

Post by FredC »

Well, we will keep our eyes and ears open. I already have the tool, it might not cost much to send it off and have it set up to bend the forms. That unused dodad on the top looks like it could be the right size to bend Krag clips. The fellow I bought it from seemed to be a whiz at this stuff. I made those wires for years with no adjustment to the machine. Seemed like black magic, stick the wire in turn the handle and you got a perfectly formed wire.

The samples will tell us thickness, temper, and fill in a lot of blanks. No reason to damage them or anything, they can be returned to live another day on a repro handguard.

FredC

Post by FredC »