Shooters World Match Rifle

Ammunition, reloading, shooting, etc
Musicmanhd130

Shooters World Match Rifle

Post by Musicmanhd130 »

Hello I'm sorry if this in the wrong place. I have an abundance of shooters world match rifle powder I was wondering if anyone has load data for a 30-40 to be used in the 1898 sprngfield. Thank you in advance.

FredC

Re: Shooters World Match Rifle

Post by FredC »

HelloMusicmanhd130,
I have been hanging out here for about 10 years and do not load for 30/40. I do load for 35/40 but that is a different story. Is "shooters world match rifle powder" the name of a powder? If so, I have never heard of it.
If "Shooters World Match Rifle Powder" is the proper name for the powder, what is it similar too?

Doubly Reincarnated

Post by Doubly Reincarnated »

I'm with Fred. I've never heard of Shooters World Match Rifle powder. There is a "relative burn rate" chart on the Reloader 19 topic two topics below this. Once upon a time, military surplus powders were sold in large containers, maybe 50 lbs. I remember seeing 4350 and 4831 sold that way. I suspect that 4895 was available that way, maybe even from DCM. I suspect that someone obtained one or more of those old surplus containers and repackaged the stuff. Given our world today, the stuff could be Russian or Chinese military surplus.

If it is ball powder, the grains will be little spheres. If it is extruded, physical comparison of the individual grains with known samples of other powders might give you a hint. If I had your powder, I'd look at IMR-4895, IMR-4350, and IMR-4831 for starters. If you can look at individual grains under a microscope, that would help a lot. Measure grain length & diameter, and then look at the ends of the grains. Are there tiny holes that run through each grain? Burn a tiny amount and look at the residue. Compare that with the residue of known types.