Krag Ammo Now Obsolete?! =(

Ammunition, reloading, shooting, etc
Ambrose

Krag Ammo Now Obsolete?! =(

Post by Ambrose »

Hello;

I have recently gotten a family heirloom that is incredibly unique, has a wonderful feel, shoots great and for me strikes a harmonious balance of power vs gentle recoil. This treasure is a Krag! To me it's such a special gun, I'd love to shoot it maybe the rest of my life.

I've been buying 30-40 ammo for about 6 months and have noticed a total lack of availability, anywhere for factory cartridges. Reloading is not an option right now, with so many commitments in my life I barely have time or energy to go to the range as often as I'd like never mind clean the guns as often as I should. Online reloaders are exhorbitantly expensive, and I stopped patronizing local gun stores that remanufacture ammo as it's so dirty with their cheap-o powders. Even trading in brass it's not that much cheaper than factory stuff, IMHO not worth it.

Since I don't know a lot about this sort of thing, let me ask others who may know the scoop, is 30 40 availability a seasonal thing and I should husband my remaining factory ammo until the next lot, or is this it and now our Krags are orphaned rifles for good?

Thanks again
A

butlersrangers

Re: Krag Ammo Now Obsolete?! =(

Post by butlersrangers »

'Ambrose' - Welcome to the KCA Forum.

For the virtues you mention: accuracy, power, and pleasant recoil, the .30-40 Krag is not obsolete. However, with only approximately 1/2 million rifles ever chambered for it, there is certainly not the demand enjoyed by many other cartridges.

IMHO - the .30-40 Krag has kind of a 'cult' following and most who use it probably reload and enjoy antique military arms.

There are lots of rumors as to whether the .30-40 ammo and brass will continue to be made by Remington and Winchester. In the recent past it appears to have been made on a seasonal basis.