Kraig Carbine

Historical threads originally posted to the 'Krag Forum' board
oldratt

Kraig Carbine

Post by oldratt »

Like nearly everyone else I have a Kraig that I would like to know more about.

The receiver has model 1898 springfield armory 178529
with a U.S. above the springfield armory.

The cartooch on the stock has a date of 1899 on it with initials eith ILA or SLA.

The front sight has a c stamped on the right side.

All metal is in really good shape except the receiver that has a mottled appearance.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Is this a true carbine or a cut down rifle? Has it been refurbished? etc.

Travis

Re: Kraig Carbine

Post by Travis »

Springrield research service shows several KRAG RIFLES in your serial no grouping. That would indicate to me that you have a cut down rifle not a carbine, but I am not an expert. Does the weapon have a spring clip holding the barrel band on, is the front sight braised to the barrel or does it have a band that goes all the way around the barrel, is the front of the stock { under the barrel } filled in like a cleaning rod would fit into it ? These are a few things to look at to see if it is cut down or not . There are alot of more informed people here than my self I am sure more people will have other things to add to help you out . Good luck in your research but in the mean time enjoy shooting your krag !

billdavidmoore

Post by billdavidmoore »

I also have a Krag Carbine. The rear sight should be a carbine type, the barrel should be 22", the stock should have a front barrel band held on with a spring clip and there should not be a sling swivel at the butt end. Go the the photo section of this site and check out the carbine pictures as well as the rear sight pictures. If your piece has a front barrel band with a sling swivel, or a cutout at the butt for the lower swivel, those are a good indications that it may be a cut down rifle.