1898 Carbine Serial Number

U.S. Military Krags
dan goris

1898 Carbine Serial Number

Post by dan goris »

Greetings... I'm new to this form and wish I would have found it years ago!! I have a correct all military 1898 carbine. I'm hoping that someone can help with finding the serial number in SRS or another source such as Mallory's 2nd ed. book. The number is 119587. Poyer puts the approx. month of manufacture at July - Aug 98. The stock has the JSA 1898 cartouche.
This gun also has a 1898 "C" rear sight. I can attach photos for needed. Again, I wish that I would have found this form a long time ago. Sounds like some very knowledgeable collectors. I currently own 3 rifles and 2 carbines and are still looking for more!!!! Any help in this serial number check would be greatly appreciated! Thx Lt. Dan

dan goris

Re: 1898 Carbine Serial Number- CORRECTIOn

Post by dan goris »

Correction The gun has 1896 rear sight

Knute1

Re: 1898 Carbine Serial Number

Post by Knute1 »

I don't have anything better than a Poyer book, others will. But I'll let you know that pictures are absolutely, positively necessary if it is at all possible the thing to do to get more and better responses to whatever can be said about your specimen(s). Might even find out things that you never even thought to ask. So, welcome to the forum. Looking forward, as many others will be, to any pictures you care to share.

butlersrangers

Post by butlersrangers »

'dan goris' - Welcome to the KCA Forum.

No 'hit' for your Krag carbine, #119587, in the SRS data contained in Mallory's "KRS", 2nd edition.
The listed Krags, closest to your number, are 119552 & 119600, both rifles.

I have the 'remains' of a model 1898 carbine, #119744, that is only 157 digits away.
Our carbines were likely built the same month, August 1898.

My carbine was likely updated to model 1899 features. It came to me in a model 1899 carbine stock. A civilian drilled & tapped the receiver for a Weaver side-mount.