Process for Sighting in an 1898 Krag

Historical threads originally posted to the 'Krag Forum' board
kw64

Process for Sighting in an 1898 Krag

Post by kw64 »

I am new to his forum so please forgive any oversights. I have an 1898 Krag rifle with the 1901 sights. Took it to the range today and put 20 rounds through it at 100 yards with very modest success. I was on the target with 16 rounds, and low on the others I think. I am wondering if it would make more sense to shoot 5 rounds at 25 yards, then 5 more at 50 yards, and then increase to 100. But to do so I am not sure what to do with the sights as I do not see a setting for less than 100 yards. I am 64 and wear glasses but see well, but old eyes might be part of the problems. I am trying to find a process that minimizes the human error part to get a feel for the rifle. I used to shoot a lot as a young man but have not shot much in the past 30 years. I am really enjoying it but am striving to shoot tight groups. Any help is appreciated. Thank you, Ken 8-)

Cat Man

Re: Process for Sighting in an 1898 Krag

Post by Cat Man »

Hi Ken,

I'm only a young guy at 58, but I share your frustration with aging eyes. I do most of my shooting with military "Iron" sights and have shot high power service rifle competition for a long time. So with that introduction, a couple things come to mind.
(Assuming consistent ammunition and a Krag barrel with some accuracy left in it)
1) Use a large enough target for open iron sights at 100 yards. I use the NRA 200 yard military target repair center with a
12 1/2 inch black for the sights you have on the Krag. I like the 1901 sight for target work because of the adjustments available.
2) blacken the front sight post. It makes a huge difference. The post front should be square and sharp.
3) remember to FOCUS on the front sight only. The long sight radius to the Krag front sight is an advantage.