more pics of looking for serial number

Historical threads originally posted to the 'Krag Forum' board
kaziboku

more pics of looking for serial number

Post by kaziboku »

More pics of the krags I asked about...
Sorry, I had a hard time with multiple pics.
The attached is a word doc.
mark Image

fred

Re: more pics of looking for serial number

Post by fred »

I believe the last digit of the model year was removed when someone drilled a hole for scope mounting and then filled the hole in (probably drilled in the wrong place). Looks like it was filled with JB Weld or some other metal filler.

The serial number was probably polished off (inadvertently I imagine) when someone was polishing this rifle prior to rebluing it. It has been reblued as the originals were a dark, mottled grey color caused by oil-quenching during the hardening process. It is very easy to get carried away when polishing metal with powertools.

I'm no lawyer or gun rights expert, but I believe that with no serial number that rifle may be illegal to own. I am pretty sure that it is illegal to sell.

daveboy

psteinmayer

Post by psteinmayer »

Based on what I saw in the full sized pics in the first post, I'd say both were cut down rifles rather than true carbines. The longer of the two definitely has a replacement front sight... Just my opinion...

kaziboku

Post by kaziboku »

Thanks for the info. Never would have thought the serial number could be polished off but it does make sense.
Still shoots though... and that is why it was purchased.

Thanks again, I enjoy reading the forum.

butlersrangers

Post by butlersrangers »