1896 Carbine - Need Opinions

U.S. Military Krags
Ranger O

1896 Carbine - Need Opinions

Post by Ranger O »

I just recently purchased my first Krag SN 31553 (see attached photos). I had been searching for an early Model 1896 carbine of Spanish American War vintage mindful of the numerous cut-downs and fakes that are out there. I followed the advice posted on this forum and elsewhere I studied Joe Poyers book and I handled and examine several Krags before I made the purchase but I would still like to get a second opinion from you guys who are much more knowledgeable than me. So my questions are:
1. Does this appear to be a legit carbine?
2. What if anything is the significance of the 15 and PG crudely carved into the receiver metal? I assume that it is the work of some mindless idiot but I am not 100% sure.
3. Regarding No. 2, would you recommend trying to somehow re-finish or polish this out of the metal?
I checked with Springfield Research Service and nothing came up for my Serial Number. Any additional info would be appreciated. Thanks,
Ranger O
ImageImageImageImageImage

98src

Re: 1896 Carbine - Need Opinions

Post by 98src »

Real carbine. Just live with the engraving.

Ranger O

Post by Ranger O »

Thanks 98src.

Any estimate on a range of value? I have heard $1,500 to $3,000 for legit carbines. Bore is clean, rifling is visible but worn, action is smooth.

Also, if I were to take it to the range and fire a few rounds on a rare occasion what mfgr/type ammo would you recommend to minimize damage potential?

psteinmayer

Post by psteinmayer »

Welcome to the forum, and to the wonderful world of Krags!!! Beware, they tend to multiply...

Nice looking carbine! Take her out and shoot her... Krags were meant to be enjoyed! I'm no expert with regards to value, so I'll let someone else speak to that... but I know that true 1898 carbines are the most valuable and command the highest prices. As for the metal finish, it's consistent and even, as it should look.