Calling All Krag History Detectives

U.S. Military Krags
Local Boy

Calling All Krag History Detectives

Post by Local Boy »

Howdy Folks,

New to the board and first time poster. I'm a novice military surplus arms collector and recently acquired a Krag. A buddy was pining away for a Chassepot bayonet of mine and decided to trade his Krag for the bayonet! Of course I said "lets shake on it" and gave him his bayonet before he changed his mine. So now I have Krag but I'm not sure if it's a carbine or a cut down rifle. Any additional information about the Krag's history and value would be GREATLY APPRECIATED! Here are the Facts:

1. Receiver marked "US Model 1896 Springfield Armory"
2. Serial#: 72,861
3. 1896 rifle rear sight (no "C" marking)
4. Front sight is atypical or banded
5. Barrel appears to be 22 inches
6. Barrel stamped with a "K" and "P"
7. Barrel diameter at the muzzle is .62 in
8. Barrel diameter behind front sight is .66 in
9. Barrel has 4 grooves
10. Stock stamped "34" behind trigger guard
11. Hand guard stamped with "99" on the inside
12. No cartouches or sling swivels
13. Butt plate oilier cover stamped "25"
14. Weapon was used to kill many moose... OK, not sure about that fact but that's what my friend told me. ::)

Possibilities:
1. Rifle was manufactured in 1897
2. Rifle falls within the M1896 carbine range 67,000-79,499
3. Arsenal refurbished in 1899
4. Front sight is a butchered 1903 sight
5. Maybe an infamous DCM/Bannerman chop job
6. Used in the Spanish American War
7. Rough Rider... Don't think so since serial doesn't match Rough Rider issue numbers. But maybe...

So there you have it Sherlock! What do you think?

Respectfully,

Tony
ImageImageImageImageImage

Local Boy

Re: Calling All Krag History Detectives

Post by Local Boy »

Additional photos.ImageImageImageImageImage

butlersrangers

Post by butlersrangers »

'Local Boy' - Welcome to the KCA Forum.