Unserialized Krag Sporter

Sporterized and unofficial modified Krags
wellfedirishman

Unserialized Krag Sporter

Post by wellfedirishman »

Hi Folks, a newbie here although I am active on many other shooting/casting forums.

I just picked up a sporterized Krag. The interesting thing is that receiver appears unserialized, and there is no sign that it ever had a serial to begin with (no sign of a scrubbed serial, etc.)

The barrel is also not drilled/tapped for sights. It currently wears a peep receiver sight (Rice type?).

Anyone know about Krags like this that are unserialized? I have searched extensively on Google and the only reference I found to one was on this site back in 2010, with little information:

http://www.kragcollectorsassociation.org/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1264727105

wellfedirishman

Re: Unserialized Krag Sporter

Here's a pic of the other side. It is an 1896 model.

ImageImage

madsenshooter

Post by madsenshooter »

If it's a model 96, it's had some extensive work done. The metal channel that the bolt handle passes through on 92s and 96s appears to be gone.

Tom Butts
Site Admin

Post by Tom Butts »

There were receivers that seem to have been smuggled out of the armory by workers before they were serial numbered. Then guys would put a gun together out of parts. These were called "lunchbox guns". It seems yours may have started as a lunchbox gun. Then possibly sporterized even more. Check that area on the receiver where the serial number should be to see if it has been flattened out or shows other signs of someone grinding off the serial number. Sometimes the stamping of the numbers was quite light, which made it fairly easy to grind off the serial number.

Best,
Tom

Ned Butts
Site Admin

Post by Ned Butts »

I would be interested in seeing pictures of the underside and right rear side of the receiver where the bolt handle "support" should be

wellfedirishman