I'm a newbie here to

Sporterized and unofficial modified Krags
chuck56

I'm a newbie here to

Post by chuck56 »

I'm new to this site and hope that some of you guys can help me out.

A widow I know gave me a 30-40 Krag but minus the stock. It's in decent shape and was wondering if it's worth getting a stock for.

I'm really not sure what to do with it.

chuck56

Re: I'm a newbie here to

Post by chuck56 »

img

chuck56

Post by chuck56 »

img

img

img

img

img

img

serial # is 805452

Dick Hosmer

Post by Dick Hosmer »

Welcome!

Looks like it might have been in a fire?

To be honest, I'm not sure it is worth saving - it would only be good for a throw-in-the-truck, or loaner, hunting rifle. Too much has been done to it to be of any use to a collector, and even to make it usable for hunting might be more than it would be worth.

But, since it was a gift, you have nothing to lose, and it could be a fun winter project, I suppose, especially if it had once belonged to a dear friend. Of course, if it was in a fire, it might not be safe.

Number has to be 305452 (receiver made in 1902) - Krags did not go over 500,000.

chuck56

Post by chuck56 »

The pics don't do it justice.

It wasn't in a fire it's been sitting in his old workshop/sportshop for 25 years.

It would be safe to shoot. The bolt works fine and so does the ejector.

A 3... lol I thought so but my eyes keep playing tricks on me.

Anyhow thank you for the info and like I said the pics don't do it justice.

spentprimer

Post by spentprimer »

It looks like a winter project to me, too. That is what I would do if it were mine.

Welcome to the forum!

madsenshooter

Post by madsenshooter »

Seeing as how it has been drilled and tapped for both receiver sight and a scope mount, and also has a barrel band, I'd put in in a sporter stock. Can't say for sure which scope mount it would take, could be a Williams. Older ones took 4 screws, the ones made now take 3 that are spaced approx 1.125" center to center.