Pair of 1896 Long Rifles

U.S. Military Krags
mibecker03

Pair of 1896 Long Rifles

Post by mibecker03 »

Hello gents, I'm new to KCA and am excited to indulge myself with the knowledge provided within the threads of this site.

Perusing GunBroker as one does, I stumbled across a pair of 1896 long rifles listed by Ohio Ordnance Works. Listed below are the links to the auctions.

With an initial inquiry, how would some of you more savvy enthusiasts perceive and evaluate these rifles? I'm doing as much research as I can on my own without the appropriate texts, however I'm curious if anything stands out to any of you regarding any great deficiencies or irregularities?

I appreciate any sort of advice or cautions in advance.

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/890216426
https://www.gunbroker.com/item/890639072

Baltimoreed

Re: Pair of 1896 Long Rifles

Post by Baltimoreed »

Nice looking unmolested rifles but I’m not an expert and don’t know the fine nuances of the mysterious Krag. They look a lot like my 1896 rifle which has an 1896 cartouched stock. It’s sn is 83470, a little later than those two. Price might be a little high compared to the one Krag dealer’s rifle prices that I used to see at shows. But I haven’t seen him in a while and of course haven’t been to the big Md Arms show since 2019. Who knows what they’re worth in todays craziness?
Attachments
A436DF65-B11F-46AC-8546-201BC4D4C691.jpeg
A436DF65-B11F-46AC-8546-201BC4D4C691.jpeg (179.07 KiB) Viewed 1934 times

rickhill

Post by rickhill »

I concur. Both look like fine condition original Model 1896 rifles. Hard to find these days in this condition IMHO but priced accordingly.
Military Arms Collector

butlersrangers

Post by butlersrangers »

'Mibecker03' - Welcome to the KCA Forum. Those appear to be a pair of mighty nice looking model 1896 U.S. Krag rifles.
I am not sure, if we are suppose comment on active auctions, but, KCA policy allows helping members "vet" an item.