Newbie Member says Hello!

For poking fun and off topic subjects
kenm

Newbie Member says Hello!

Post by kenm »

Hey everyone,

My name is Ken and I'm new to Krag and Milsurp collecting. I'm absolutely fascinated by Krags and have purchased 2 so far.
I'm not new to guns as I'm a Maryland CCW instructor and am a member of a couple of collector groups.
I work in information technology and do some web development when time allows.
I have multiple interests in firearms including M1903s, and of course Krags (so far my favorite).
But where can you get ammo of brass for a Krag (I've only seen one place and it was $100 for 20 rounds!)?

Currently, I'm in search of an M1 Garand.

I look forward to interacting and maybe meeting you all..

Thanks,
-Ken

Whig

Re: Newbie Member says Hello!

Post by Whig »

Ken- Welcome to the KCA! You can certainly learn a lot about your "favorite" mil surp rifles here and we'll help you enjoy Krags as much as we can. The ammo thing has been a problem for quite a while. I have seen some .30-40 Krag ammo for sale at local guns stores in my travels, some at very reasonable prices. But, as you stated, I have also seen some for $2-3 per round. Many of us reload and have accumulated good stores of brass, powder, primers and bullets for our Krag addiction. Graf sells brass frequently. I see Krag ammo being sold at auctions on the internet also but prices can run high. Be cautious with vintage Krag ammunition because the necks and heads can crack and become unsafe to use. I have shot a lot of vintage ammo and actually had a lot of it shoot well without duds or hang fires but I examine cases carefully afterwards and throw out split cases.

If you can post pictures of your Krags, we'd love to see them.