Norweigian Krag ID help!

European Krags
erichhonecker

Norweigian Krag ID help!

Post by erichhonecker »

Good Evening,

I hope you are all well! I am wondering whether you may be able to help ID this Krag if possible? I am new to shooting and have a great passion for old historic service rifles. The perspective is a bit odd on the photos but 'm confused - listed as a 'Lang Krag Carbine' apparently? Doesn't seem to fit anything I've seen on this page (I'm looking at the 'waffle' bolt in particular as well as the drilled reciever?) https://surplused.com/index.php/2014/05 ... en-rifles/

I am also wondering whether the reciever is one of the 'strengthened' ones or not?

Thank you for your help in advance.
Attachments
Reciever.JPG
Reciever.JPG (67.25 KiB) Viewed 8048 times
Reciever Dating.JPG
Reciever Dating.JPG (42.45 KiB) Viewed 8048 times
Full.JPG
Full.JPG (45.04 KiB) Viewed 8048 times

butlersrangers

Re: Norweigian Krag ID help!

Post by butlersrangers »

'erichhonecker' - Welcome to the KCA Forum.

It appears to me that the Krag you are inquiring about is a Norwegian model 1894 rifle, built at the Kongsberg Arms Factory, in 1922.
The current Bolt is a serial number 'mismatch' and is likely from one of the Norwegian carbine models.

The drilled and tapped holes, on the right-side of the receiver, were likely a Civilian addition, for the mounting of one of the various Norwegian commercial 'Diopter Sights'.
In the U.S., we call such sights Receiver 'Peep' sights.

The rifle looks rather nice and may have been the property of a Norwegian Competitive Shooter at a Civilian Club.
Last edited by butlersrangers on Fri Mar 24, 2023 12:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.

KingsPointer

Post by KingsPointer »

Looks like a private purchase m/1894 Krag-Jorgensen with a m/1912 carbine bolt swapped in for whatever reason. At one point it must have mounted a diopter rear sight, which seems to have been very commonly used in the civilian competition scene.

erichhonecker