Military Krag

U.S. Military Krags
Sunshineboys

Military Krag

Post by Sunshineboys »

I am looking at this to buy. I have no knowledge of US military Krags. Does it appear to be complete and can anyone tell the model and scarcity? Dave
IMG_0643.jpeg
IMG_0643.jpeg (153.91 KiB) Viewed 2657 times
IMG_0642.jpeg
IMG_0642.jpeg (96.76 KiB) Viewed 2663 times
Last edited by Sunshineboys on Thu Jun 15, 2023 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Blueheeler

Re: Military Krag

Post by Blueheeler »

We need more pictures and a serial number would be really helpful, the front sight is not too clear but it looks like it may be a non original 1903 type, indicating a cut down rifle, but again the more pictures the better if you want a real anaysis.

King carp

Post by King carp »

From the single picture it looks like a cut down rifle with a sanded stock incorrect front sight and new sling. What is the asking price?

Sunshineboys

Post by Sunshineboys »

I do not have any details yet nor any detailed photos. I have asked. Asking price is north of $1,000.00
Serial number 1955xx. Stock has an armoury repair and a clear inspection cartouche. Thoughts about value? Dave
Last edited by Sunshineboys on Thu Jun 15, 2023 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Whig

Post by Whig »

The leather sling, carbine scabbard and McKeever cartridge case are nice. The rifle, not worth much. Cut down rifle stock, wrong banded front sight, no hand guard. Rifle is sporterized and looks to be worth around $300-400 as a shooter from the looks of it. Bore condition may determine accuracy. No military collector's value from these pictures. Accoutrements worth around $200-300 or so.

More pictures would help. Can't tell for sure about the rear sight. If it is a carbine rear sight, it has some more value by itself. The leaf is riding high in the base, so, it could be a carbine sight.

I don't think this is worth anywhere near the asking price. Focus on the firearm for value, not the accoutrements.