For poking fun and off topic subjects
SFCRayT

Post by SFCRayT »

Hello, would like to take the time to introduce myself. I'm a retired NYPD Officer and Veteran, living in Southwest Virginia. I'm new to the forum and have registered to learn a bit about these fantastic rifles. I only own one Krag at the moment Its a 1899 carbine, with a 359xxx serial no. Probably made in 1902. I've had it for quite a few years. Nothing really special as far as Krags go, I guess. But this one is unit marked. It is stamped on the trigger guard with the markings, "6 CAV TP K" and on the bottom of the stock grip it is also pressed stamped "6 CAV TP K", in the wood. The patina on the stamping looks consistent with the age of the rifle. My questions: are the markings indeed original, and do they add any value to the rifle? I have no intentions of selling the rifle, but would like know the value and the history behind it. Would like to know if it really did com from the 6th Cav and how could I go about getting any provenance for this particular gun? Thanks for your time, will send pictures soon.
Ray Tirado

butlersrangers

Re: New Member

Post by butlersrangers »

'SFCRayT' - Welcome to the KCA Forum!

Model 1899 carbines are one of my favorite Krag models.

Some clear close-up pictures of your carbine's markings, will help stimulate feedback and discussion.

Your model 1899 carbine in the 359XXX range, probably dates from around November of 1901.

Here is a photo of two carbines, (that I restored), from the 349XXX range.
They were probably assembled a month ahead of yours.
Attachments
a pair of 1899 carbines-1.jpg
a pair of 1899 carbines-1.jpg (329.12 KiB) Viewed 1557 times

scottz63

Post by scottz63 »

Welcome here SFCRayT!! :)

Yes, it would be very interesting to see some pics of your Carbine and especially the Unit markings on it.
14EH AIT Instructor-PATRIOT Fire Control Enhanced Operator/Maintainer

Whig

Post by Whig »

Ray,