newbe questions for reloading for Krag.

Ammunition, reloading, shooting, etc
BM1455

newbe questions for reloading for Krag.

Post by BM1455 »

Hello guys. I'm new to reloading for the .30-40 and will be shooting it in my 1898 rifle that has a very nice .308 bore. A few questions.
Firstly, is there a difference between the thickness of the Remington and the Winchester Brass? If so, I will circle back to this later in the post.
I found a random Winchester case at the range. Brought it home and cleaned it, re-sized it in my lee FL re-sizer die, checked it for case length, and seated a Hornady 220 RN to 3.080". It is just a dummy case with no powder and will be used for die set up only. It cycles nicely in my Springfield 1898 with no problems.

Today I went to the range and fired 6 Remington factory 180gr loads. All went nicely. Brought the brass home and tried to set up my Hornady 30 cal. (.308) neck sizing die. I wanted to re-size the neck as far down towards the beginning of the shoulder as I could without actually getting to that point. Then I added the expander and decapper back into the die. At first I tightened it all the way down to the point where the mandrel gripped the expander tightly enough and found it collapsed the shoulder of the case. I re set it by screwing the expander and the locking madrel down until I felt it touch the mouth of the case. The problem seems to be that the Krag neck is so much longer that it will not allow me to tighten the mandrel down enough for it to grip the expander/ decapper in place without tightening it all down to where it collapses the shoulder.
1. Am I doing it wrong?