Reloading cast bullets for 1898 Krag

Ammunition, reloading, shooting, etc
Fairshake

Reloading cast bullets for 1898 Krag

Post by Fairshake »

Hello, My name is David Shultz, Fairshake is my forum name and I'm a new member. I've been reloading since 1968 and casting since 1970. I'm a member of SASS and shoot the matches with 44wcf firearms loaded with black powder. I have a 1898 rifle that is original and I've had it since 1968-69. I shot it when I was first given the gun and discovered that the bore was very dark and corroded. The accuracy was about pie plate in size so I used it as a mantle piece.
I started working on the bore and after a lot of work I discovered that the rifling was very good. I decided to take it out and start shooting it again.
While I have loaded for many different calibers, I've never done so for the 30-40. I would like to know what weight bullet and powder would be good to start with.
I appreciate any help that you may provide for me as I fully realize that what works well in one gun will shoot terrible in another. I have yet slugged the bore to see what bullet I need and what alloy I need to use. If I can stay away from a gas checked bullet, that would be nice but if it requires one then I will go that route.
I would also like to know if anyone has any thing on using the 303 British case for light loads in the Krag rifle. Thanks Much Fairshake

McKrag

Re: Reloading cast bullets for 1898 Krag

Post by McKrag »