.22 Krag

U.S. Military Krags
Danny

.22 Krag

Post by Danny »

Hey, so I added this Krag a few months back off of GB. Its a gallery rifle chambered in .22 LR. I know the original production was around 850 and according to the one page on this website there are about 100 observed and recorded examples. I thought I would share it with the crowd here since these seem to be uncommon and as best I can tell it is an authentic example of a .22 Krag. Something I had only seen once before in person. ImageImageImageImageImage

butlersrangers

Re: .22 Krag

Post by butlersrangers »

Nice photos, thanks for sharing!

psteinmayer

Post by psteinmayer »

That has the original 1898 rear sight... Awesome! Nice looking Krag!

1911Ron

Post by 1911Ron »

That is cool! Question does it feed like Krag or is it different?

reincarnated

Post by reincarnated »

I have had some experience with Gallery Practice Rifles, so I will share what I have learned.

First, they are all single shot rifles. They do not use the magazine. They are loaded by opening the bolt, leaving it back and then inserting a 22 Long Rifle cartridge into the chamber with your fingers. Once the cartridge is started into the chamber, closing the bolt seats it properly.

Second, they use an ordinary Krag bolt and extractor. The chamber & bore are drilled at an eccentric angle, set low at the breech but centered at the muzzle.

Ejection is a sometimes thing. The ejector is a trip pin, fitted into the left side of the receiver where the little hole is drilled. The Krag's extractor pulls a spring-loaded auxiliary extractor out until the regular extractor hits the trip pin. That lets the auxiliary extractor snap back into place.

The auxiliary extractor is a modification of the ordinary .22 rimfire extractor-ejector used in the 1885 Winchester Single Shot.